Our “Where”

A month ago I decided to start a new devotional after almost three years of not reading one.

I got through the first week before life took over, and I found myself struggling to find time to do laundry, let alone sit down and work through the Bible. This morning, however, I woke up after only 6 hours of sleep (I’m an eight hour sleeper!) feeling energized and ready to start the day.

After fighting with my coffee machine, I finally sat down and started watching “Jessie.” I know. I’m 21 and still watching the Disney channel. I totally blame babysitting. After getting up to plug my phone in–because my FBing drained the battery within 1 hour of being awake–I saw my devotional sitting on the table, patiently waiting for me to hang out with it again.

I thought, “Hey, it’s Monday. It’s a new week, a great time to start reading it again.” So I clicked off the TV and picked up my Bible and am so glad I did.

I think almost everyone goes through a period in their life, or maybe their entire life!, wondering why they are where they are. For me, I’ve always wondered why I’m in SA for college. It’s definitely not because I wanted to be. My dream had always been NYU, living in the middle of hustle and bustle, right above a cheescake shop. The idea of living in New York always appealed to me, and when my friend and I went to NY when I was 18, that idea became more solidified in my core as what I was going to do.

Well, it didn’t.

College is expensive. REALLY expensive. And living in NY is also REALLY expensive. So I signed up for college in SA and hated my first two years in school. The schooling itself was great. I learned so much and really transformed into another person because of the people I met. But in the back of my mind, I always thought of my friends who were in other states for college, and hated the fact that I couldn’t be with them. Without taking on a pile of debt, that is.

I finally grew up and got over it the second semester of my junior year in college, when I met the most amazing professor. She lit a fire under me and made me realize that just because I was in SA didn’t mean I couldn’t still achieve my career goals. She woke me up and pushed me to go after internships I wanted and really developed the skills I needed to succeed in my dream career.

At that point, I realized how lucky I was to have stayed in SA. Had I not, there is no way I would have ever met this professor (who I had for three classes that semester!) and accomplished things I never thought I could in academia.

And although that may be a small piece of my being in SA, it doesn’t end there.

Being able to be in the same city as my family is another something I’m grateful for. I couldn’t imagine being miles away from my sister when she’s about to have twins, or not being able to see my grandpa while he’s sick. And if I couldn’t see my mom and dad (and Catherine, because if I don’t mention her she’ll be sad :)) my life wouldn’t be as fulfilling as it could be. In fact, yesterday after church while we were all sitting down for breakfast, a calming wave washed over me and I realized how lucky I was to have my family, and that no matter what I did or didn’t do, they would always love me and be there for me.

It’s these moments I realize how lucky I am to not have had the money to go to NYU.

In today’s devotional, the author, Beth Moore, talks about why we are where we are:

“Let’s face it. Most of us have a love-hate relationship with the places we’ve gotten our mail, but God intended to use every stop to equip us as servants. You have been assigned to your town or your city, and equally, it has been assigned to you. You may feel like an exile within its city limits, but just as God spoke through the prophet Jeremiah [Jer. 29:4-7], He wants to prosper you there. His method may not be through all your city can do to edify and serve you. It may be what you can do to build up your city–one neighbor, one teacher, one trash collector at a time.”

I know my situation is unique and only those who are in my situation may be able to relate, but I know this is an issue everyone faces. From having to move across the country for a job or family, to working in a new place because of whatever reason, we may wonder from time to time what our purpose is there. Or we may never question it, and just hate it, like I did my first two years in college.

When I read the devotional today, I couldn’t help but think of all of the family and friends I know who have moved (or wished they had) and find it difficult to relate to the people and place their surrounded with. And if you ever feel that way, my advice is the same Beth Moore gave me this morning, and what Jeremiah gave to the Jews in Babylonia: become ingrained in your society. Settle down, plant a garden, get married, create a family, do good work, THRIVE! If you are just so unhappy with where you are (city, church, school, work, etc.) that you can’t even do good work, it may be God’s way of trying to show you what to change with your current situation, physically or mentally.

We don’t have to be in positions of power for God to use us. It’s important for us to realize that we’ve been called by God’s purpose to the places we live. And I think once we realize that and accept it, we will truly be able to serve God’s purpose for our lives and be happy with where we are.

Leave a comment